Dragon pricing facts

What Dragon dictation costs: Professional, Medical One, Anywhere and Mac

Dragon is sold as several separate products, each with its own license. This page lists what Nuance and Microsoft publish about each one: the price, whether it is a subscription or a one-time license, whether you can still buy it, and where it runs.

Last updated

Checked: Nuance's Dragon product pages and support articles, the Dragon Medical One listing on Microsoft Marketplace and Microsoft Learn, read on 9 October 2026. Prices change; each source is linked under References.

Short answer

Nuance no longer lists a public price for Dragon Professional v16 (sales contact only, checked on 9 October 2026); its last public list price was $699, a one-time payment, in the Nuance US store (archived 11 February 2025). Dragon Medical One is a per-user cloud subscription; its Microsoft Marketplace listing shows $123 per user per month on a 1-year term ($1,476 per user per year) and asks buyers to confirm eligibility with Microsoft first. Dragon Anywhere Mobile has not been sold or renewable since 1 July 2026, and Dragon Home 15 has not been sold after 27 February 2023. Dragon for Mac was discontinued on 22 October 2018: existing licenses keep working without updates, and Dragon Medical One runs on a Mac only through Windows.

Dragon products at a glance

Dragon editions, prices and availability as published by Nuance and Microsoft, checked on 9 October 2026.
Product Price published by Nuance or Microsoft License Can you buy it now? Runs on
Dragon Professional v16 Not published; last listed at $699 one-time (archived 11 February 2025) Installed on the PC; the product page does not state the license term Contact Nuance or an authorized reseller Windows 10 and 11
Dragon Professional Anywhere Not published Cloud-hosted subscription Contact Nuance Windows
Dragon Medical One $123 per user per month on a 1-year term (Microsoft Marketplace) Cloud subscription, per user Yes, after Microsoft confirms eligibility Windows (a Mac only through Windows)
Dragon Anywhere Mobile - Subscription No: sales and renewals ended 1 July 2026 iOS and Android
Dragon Home 15 - Perpetual No: not sold after 27 February 2023 Windows
Dragon Professional Individual for Mac 6 - Perpetual; no updates after 22 October 2018 No: discontinued 22 October 2018 macOS

Windows desktop

Dragon Professional v16: no published price

Nuance's Dragon Professional page describes version 16 as optimized for Windows 11 and compatible with Windows 10. On 9 October 2026 it showed no price and no checkout, only Contact us, in its US, UK, Australian, German, French, Spanish, Italian and Dutch editions, and both old Nuance store addresses for Dragon Professional led back to the product page. The same site lists Dragon Legal and Dragon Law Enforcement as separate products.

The last archived Nuance store page that shows a price, captured by the Wayback Machine on 11 February 2025, listed Dragon Professional at $699 as a one-time payment. The next capture, on 24 February 2025, said that Nuance store purchases were temporarily on hold while Nuance switched to a new payment platform.

The v16 data sheet lists Windows 10 or 11 (or Windows Server 2016, 2019 or 2022), 4 GB of RAM and 8 GB of free disk space, and an internet connection for the product download and automatic activation.

In its notice about the version 16 release, Nuance said that customers with a maintenance and support contract could upgrade free, that version 15 users without one would get discounted upgrade pricing, and that customers could reach Nuance through its website, an authorized Nuance reseller or a Nuance account executive. The same notice calls version 14 and 15 licenses perpetual. The Dragon Professional page does not state the license term for version 16, so ask Nuance or the reseller before you buy.

Healthcare edition

Dragon Medical One: a per-user subscription

Dragon Medical One is a cloud-based speech product for clinical documentation. Microsoft's Dragon Medical One page links to a Microsoft Marketplace listing, published by Nuance, that shows three plans, each a 1-year subscription priced per user:

Dragon Medical One per user - US on Microsoft Marketplace, prices in US dollars as listed, checked on 9 October 2026.
Plan on the listing Price per user Term Per user for the term
DMO, HS, Term, User License (DMONE-TERM) $123 a month 1-year subscription $1,476
DMO and PMM, HS, Term, User License (DMOPMM-TERM) $99 a month 1-year subscription $1,188
PMM, Term, Authorized User License (PMOBILE-TERM) $20 a month 1-year subscription $240

PMM is PowerMic Mobile, which the listing describes as turning a smartphone into a microphone for Dragon Medical One. The listing asks buyers to contact Microsoft before purchasing to confirm eligibility and the purchasing process. It gives sell prices in US dollars and does not say whether tax is included.

Microsoft's Dragon Medical One page also invites customers to migrate to Dragon Copilot. It does not publish a Dragon Copilot price.

Mac

Dragon on a Mac

Nuance discontinued Dragon Professional Individual for Mac on 22 October 2018. Its notice says owners of version 6 have a perpetual license and may keep using it, and that Nuance provides no updates after that date. The Dragon Professional v16 data sheet lists Windows only.

Microsoft Learn says Dragon Medical One is a native Windows app that cannot be installed directly on a Mac. It can run on a Mac in three ways: in a Windows virtual machine such as Parallels Desktop or VMware Fusion, where dictating at the cursor in native macOS apps is not supported; in Windows installed through Boot Camp; or as a virtual app published with a tool such as Citrix, with the Mac as the endpoint.

Discontinued

Editions you can no longer buy

Dragon Anywhere Mobile: in the App Store notes for version 1.96, Nuance wrote that as of 1 July 2026 Dragon Anywhere Mobile is no longer available for sale, and that new subscriptions and renewals are no longer possible. The app uses cloud-based speech recognition and needs an internet connection to dictate.

Dragon Home 15: Nuance's February 2023 notice says the English and German versions of Dragon Home 15, along with the version 15 Professional, Legal and Law Enforcement editions, were no longer available for purchase after 27 February 2023.

License types

Subscription or one-time license?

  1. Subscription: Dragon Medical One (per user, 1-year term on Microsoft Marketplace) and Dragon Professional Anywhere, which Nuance describes as cloud-hosted with subscription-based pricing. Dragon Anywhere Mobile was a subscription until it stopped being sold.
  2. Installed on the PC: Dragon Professional v16. Its product page does not state whether the license is perpetual or a term; confirm with Nuance or the reseller.
  3. Perpetual: Nuance's own description of the discontinued Dragon Professional Individual for Mac 6 and of Dragon versions 14 and 15.

Another option

If you want a one-time local license

Dictivo is this site's product. It is a general-purpose dictation app for Mac and Windows, not a clinical documentation product, and this page makes no claim about medical use.

If you want a one-time purchase with local dictation, Dictivo Local is US$29 once until 31 October 2026, then US$49 from 1 November 2026. Includes 12 months of updates; optional renewal at US$24 a year. In Local mode it transcribes on your computer with a downloaded model, then pastes the text into the app you are using. The Tiny model is free, and a 14-day full Local trial needs no card.

Dictivo vs Dragon: the full comparison · Dictivo pricing

Test the task you actually do

Try all Local models for 14 days without a card or Dictivo account. Download a model, dictate a short email or note, then check the text in the app you normally use. Compare the same sentence and workflow before switching.

Windows x64. The installer is not yet code-signed; verify the download source before deciding whether to proceed.

Dragon pricing questions

01 How much does Dragon Professional cost?

Nuance no longer lists a public price for Dragon Professional v16 (sales contact only, checked on 9 October 2026); its last public list price was $699, a one-time payment, in the Nuance US store (archived 11 February 2025). Nuance also sells through authorized resellers.

02 Is Dragon a subscription or a one-time purchase?

It depends on the product. Dragon Medical One and Dragon Professional Anywhere are subscriptions. Dragon Professional v16 is installed on the PC, and its product page does not state the license term. Nuance described the discontinued Mac edition and Dragon versions 14 and 15 as perpetual licenses.

03 How much does Dragon Medical One cost?

Its Microsoft Marketplace listing shows $123 per user per month on a 1-year subscription ($1,476 per user for the year), $99 per user per month for the plan that includes PowerMic Mobile, and $20 per user per month for PowerMic Mobile alone. Buyers confirm eligibility with Microsoft before purchasing.

04 Can I still buy Dragon for Mac?

No. Nuance discontinued Dragon Professional Individual for Mac on 22 October 2018. Existing version 6 licenses keep working but receive no updates.

05 Does Dragon Medical One work on a Mac?

Not natively. Microsoft Learn says it is a Windows app; on a Mac it runs in a Windows virtual machine, in Windows through Boot Camp, or as a published virtual app.

06 Can I still buy Dragon Anywhere?

No. Nuance's App Store notes say that as of 1 July 2026 Dragon Anywhere Mobile is no longer for sale and existing subscriptions cannot be renewed.

07 What happened to Dragon Home?

Nuance stopped selling Dragon Home 15 after 27 February 2023, as part of the release of Dragon version 16. Nuance's current product pages list no Home edition.

References